Andrija Stampar Medal 2010 for Observatory co-director Elias Mossialos

At the occasion of its Annual Conference, ASPHER, the Association of Schools of Public Health in the European Region, awards the prestigious Andrija Stampar Medal to a distinguished person for excellence in the field of Public Health. This year the medal goes to the Observatory’s co-Director, Elias Mossialos.

Elias Mossialos is Brian Abel-Smith Professor of Health Policy and affiliated to the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), where he is director of LSE Health and head of the Health Teaching Cluster at the Department of Social Policy.

In previous years the Andrija Stampar Medal was also awarded to other key Observatory members: Martin McKee (2003), Professor of European Public Health at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine and Head of the Observatory’s Research Policy and Observatory Director Josep Figueras (2006).