Final 3 nominees announced for the post of WHO Director-General

The WHO Executive Board selected by vote 3 candidates to be presented to the World Health Assembly as nominees for the post of Director-General of WHO. Five candidates were interviewed by Member States prior to the vote, and the names of the 3 final nominees were announced at a public meeting in Geneva on Wednesday evening, 25 January 2017. The candidates are:

  • Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus (Ethiopia)
  • Dr David Nabarro (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Sania Nishtar (Pakistan)

All Member States will choose among the 3 nominees by vote at the World Health Assembly in May 2017. The new Director-General will take office on 1 July 2017. Visit the link below to learn more about the candidates and election process.