Kazakhstan acknowledged by WHO as malaria-free

On 20 March 2012, as a result of successfully maintaining the national territory of Kazakhstan free from malaria since 2001, WHO Director-General Margaret Chan has now included the country in the list of countries that are officially acknowledged by WHO to be malaria-free. The WHO Director-General acknowledged the new status in an official letter to the Government. Kazakhstan’s inclusion in this list will be published in the World Malaria Report 2012.

Kazakhstan is one of the 10 malaria-affected countries that endorsed the Tashkent Declaration “The Move from Malaria Control to Elimination in the WHO European Region”. The other signatories are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan (in 2005) and the Russian Federation (in 2007).