Countries commit to keep Europe malaria-free


Delegates met on 21–22 July 2016 to discuss how to keep Europe malaria-free.

Countries in the WHO European Region at risk of malaria reintroduction – the same countries that signed the Tashkent Declaration in 2005 – have reaffirmed their commitment to keep the Region malaria-free.

The European Region is the first in the world to have interrupted indigenous malaria transmission. The number of cases dropped from 90 712 in 1995 to zero cases in 2015.

On 21–22 July 2016, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, the Russian Federation, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan met in Ashgabat at the first high-level consultation on the prevention of malaria reintroduction.

The 50 participants unanimously:

  • recognized the need to sustain their political commitment and vigilance and invest in strengthening health systems in order to control importation of malaria, prevent re-establishment of local transmission of the disease and rapidly contain any resurgence;
  • stressed the need to continue collaborating across borders and mobilizing resources to support countries in need; and
  • called upon WHO/Europe to continue supporting countries in their efforts.

The consultation was convened by the WHO Regional Office for Europe in collaboration with the Government of Turkmenistan.