Continued fall in malaria cases across Europe

Substantial progress towards eliminating malaria has been made across the WHO European Region. On 25 April 2011, World Malaria Day, countries that remain affected reaffirmed their commitment to eliminating malaria, as agreed in the Tashkent Declaration: “The Move from Malaria Control to Elimination”.

In 2010, only 176 locally acquired cases of malaria were reported in the WHO European Region. They occurred in 5 of the Region’s 53 Member States: Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkey and Uzbekistan. The total number of such cases fell from 90 712 in 1995 to 285 in 2009.

Experts are optimistic that the transmission of malaria has been interrupted in Georgia. Turkmenistan was certified as malaria free in October 2010, and Armenia is working closely with WHO to be certified by the end of 2011.

Countries affected by malaria remain confident that they can proceed with their programmes as planned and eliminate the disease from the Region by 2015.