Kyrgyzstan receives WHO certification for malaria elimination; Europe is the first WHO region to interrupt indigenous malaria transmission

In April 2016, WHO declared that the European Region had achieved an important milestone:  all 53 countries in the region had interrupted the chain of indigenous malaria transmission for at least 1 year.

Countries that maintain zero locally-acquired malaria cases for at least three consecutive years are eligible to apply for a certification of malaria elimination by WHO. This process is voluntary and can be initiated only after a country has submitted an official request to WHO; it involves field assessments by independent consultants and rounds of expert reviews.

Today, the Republic of Kyrgyzstan received the official WHO certification of malaria elimination. The country started the elimination certification process in 2013. Globally, a total of 32 countries and territories have received this WHO certification, including 19 countries in the European Region.