World Health Organization in Turkmenistan (2019)




The World Health Organization (WHO) is the global authority on public health within the United Nations. Founded in 1948, we collaborate with the governments of 194 Member States to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all. Currently, more than 7000 people work in 150 country offices, 6 regional offices and at the headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. The Organization’s work is guided by the principle that health is a human right, and we seek to extend universal health coverage, protect people from health emergencies, and ensure that all people enjoy better health and well-being. Turkmenistan is part of the WHO European Region, which comprises 53 countries: this Region covers a vast geographical area reaching from the Atlantic to the Pacific oceans. WHO staff in the Region are public health, scientific and technical experts, based in the Regional Office in Copenhagen, Denmark, in five technical centres and in country offices in 30 Member States. Turkmenistan became a member of WHO on 2 July 1992. Following signature of the Basic Agreement betweenWHO and the Government of Turkmenistan in 1995, WHO opened a liaison office in Ashgabat. In 2007, this became the WHO Country Office in Turkmenistan. We endeavour to build a better, healthier future for the people of Turkmenistan.