Armenia: free of malaria

On 7 October 2011, WHO Director-General Margaret Chan granted Armenia malaria-free status in an official letter to the Government. This achievement will be published in the “WHO weekly epidemiological record” and announced during the Sixty-fifth World Health Assembly in May 2012.

Nine malaria-affected countries endorsed the Tashkent Declaration: “The Move from Malaria Control to Elimination" in the WHO European Region in 2005. Armenia is the second of these to achieve the goal; Turkmenistan was the first. The other original signatories were Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkey and Uzbekistan; the Russian Federation signed in 2007.