Five Europeans receive 2012 World No Tobacco Day awards

WHO honoured five people from across the European Region for their work in fighting the global tobacco epidemic and promoting tobacco-control initiatives and policies in line with the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC).

  • Professor Dr Cevdet Erdöl (President of Health, Family, Labour and Social Affairs Commission, Grand National Assembly, Turkey) is one of the key actors and driving forces behind the ratification of the WHO FCTC and has advanced tobacco control legislation in Turkey.
  • Ms Patti White (National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), United Kingdom) has worked on all of the major international developments in tobacco control since the 1970s, often behind the scenes. As policy analyst at NICE, she produces cutting-edge national guidance.
  • Ms Jean King (Director of Tobacco Control at Cancer Research, United Kingdom) has made an exceptional contribution to global tobacco control by nurturing policy-based research and advocacy in he country and worldwide over the last 20 years.
  • Dr Andrei Usatîi (Minister of Health, Republic of Moldova) has played a crucial role, since taking office, in continuously promoting tobacco control as a priority on Government’s agenda.
  • Mrs Sylviane Ratte (Senior Adviser, International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease) embodies the theme for World No Tobacco Day 2012: the tobacco industry and its interference in public health policy-making. Mrs Ratte has fought hard as a leading advocate of some of the greatest improvements in tobacco-control legislation and policy over the last 15 years.

Every year on 31 May, WHO recognizes individuals and/or organizations for their accomplishments in tobacco control with World No Tobacco Day awards.