EHEC outbreak: 12 countries reporting cases to WHO

Countries continue to report cases of haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS) and enterohaemorrhagic E. coli (EHEC). Twelve countries have now reported cases to WHO/Europe.

  • Owing to a public holiday on 2 June, updated information on the number of cases of HUS and EHEC reported in Germany will be published on 3 June. As of 31 May 2011, Germany had reported 470 cases of HUS and 1064 cases of EHEC.
  • In addition to Germany, cases have also been notified from: Austria (HUS 0, EHEC 2), Czech Republic (0, 1), Denmark (7, 10), France (0, 6), Netherlands (4, 4), Norway (0, 1), Spain (1, 0), Sweden (15, 28), Switzerland (0, 2), United Kingdom (3, 4) and the United States of America (2, 0). Figures are of 2 June 2011.
  • All these cases except two are in people who reside in or had recently visited northern Germany during the incubation period for the infection (typically 3 to 4 days post-exposure) or, in one case, had contact with a visitor from northern Germany.
  • In accordance with the International Health Regulations (IHR), WHO is keeping Member States informed about the latest developments and providing technical guidance on further investigation of the ongoing outbreak. WHO does not recommend any trade restrictions related to this outbreak.