Millennium Development Goals

The United Nations Millennium Declaration, adopted in 2000 by 189 nations, embraces a vision for a world in which countries work in partnership for the betterment of all, particularly the most disadvantaged. This vision was transformed into eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and, since then, a total of over 20 targets and 60 indicators.

Read more

Top story

66th session of the WHO Regional Committee for Europe Copenhagen, Denmark, 12–15 September 2016

Delegates will discuss work on Health 2020 and linkages to the recently adopted 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and its Sustainable Development Goals at WHO/Europe’s annual governance meeting. Action plans on refugee and migrant health, women’s health, sexual and reproductive health, noncommunicable diseases, HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, integrated health services and the use of data in public health are also on the agenda. The session will be webcast and on social media at #RC66.


Millennium Development Goals in the WHO European Region.

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are a historic framework providing focus and accountability in addressing some of the world’s most pressing development challenges.

More publications

Technical areas supporting progress and monitoring

WHO/Europe works in various technical areas that support progress and monitoring of the health-related Millennium Development Goals (MDGs):

Read more

Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)

The United Nations Millennium Development Goals are eight goals that all 191 UN Member States have agreed to try to achieve by the year 2015.

Read more