Dr Jürgen Rehm

Dr Jürgen Rehm is Executive Director of the Institute for Mental Health Policy Research and Senior Scientist at the Campbell Family Mental Health Research Institute at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada. He is Professor and the inaugural Chair of Addiction Policy at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health at the University of Toronto and Head of the Epidemiological Research Unit, Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy at the Dresden University of Technology in Germany.

Dr Rehm is a leader in generating and analysing the scientific data needed to inform policy-makers about strategies to reduce alcohol, tobacco and other drug-related harm. This includes economic studies on the costs of substance use and the cost–benefit and cost–effectiveness of various interventions strategies.

His research interests include population health, regulatory policies – especially in the area of substance use and abuse (alcohol, tobacco, illegal drugs and psychoactive pharmaceuticals) – burden of disease methodology, comparative risk assessment and other forms of epidemiological methodology. His current research is focused on estimating avoidable burden and costs of alcohol in Canada, and on conducting comparative risk assessments on the burden of various risk factors in different countries.

Dr Rehm has received a number of awards and honours, including the Jellinek Award, and has been member of the WHO Expert Committee on Substance Abuse and the scientific committee of the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction.

He holds a PhD in psychology with a minor in methodology, graduate and undergraduate studies in psychology and methodology at Mannheim University, Germany. He began his career as Assistant Professor at Mannheim University and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, Germany from 1984 to 1988 and as the head of various epidemiological working groups at the Institute for Social Medicine and Epidemiology at the Federal Health Office, Berlin. He was also Deputy to the Head of the Epidemiology of Health Risks Department from 1988 to 1991.